• Cannabis Discussion Welcome Guest
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules

Concentrates How is THCp Being Made (not looking for a recipe, just a basic outline)?

purplehaze147

Bluelighter
All the isomers/analogs (∆8;9;10, HHC etc) THC, at least those having a cannabinol (CBN) backbone, can be made fairly easily from CBD or ∆9-THC.

THCp on the other hand has a cannbiphorol backbone, not a cannabinol backbone. I have a chemistry degree (working on getting a bachelor's still though), so I know quite a bit more than the average person about when and how a chemical bond will form. There's no way I can think of to add an extra two carbons to the end of the C5H11 side chain on the aromatic ring. There's no functional groups to work with or anything.

It seems it'd be easier to just do a total synthesis, but instead of using olivetol (5-pentylbenzene-1,3-diol) you'd have to use the 7 carbon chain version of olivetol - 5-heptylbenzene-1,3-diol (I don't know the common name but you can see pentyl is replaced with heptyl). Or can a functional group be added to the end allowing for CBD to still be used? I'm not sure without butchering the molecule up.

The 7 carbon chain precursor (for THCp and CBDp) is a lot more rare than the 5 carbon chain precursor (making CBG, CBC, CBD, THC, etc) so there has to be only trace amounts of CBDp too.

Maybe someway to reduce and perform an addition reaction or something. But that seems like goes against the Markovinkov (spelling) rule while not meeting criteria for anti-Markov if it as added to the end on the chain instead of branching. Still it seems like I'd have to butcher it up and put it back together or else end up with a low yeild.

The lack of a functional group anywhere near it has me thinking total synthesis would be the only way to get significant quantities.

it has me thinking total synthesis would be the only way to get significant quantities

I absolutely agree. Only total synthesis makes sense for THCP at this stage.