hi, i need advice regarding my methadone abuse

sintric

Greenlighter
Hello fellow bluelighters, I have been coming to this forum for 7+ years in order to research my drug use and I like to think, that my ability to research substances before I indulge has been a contributing factor to why I have never overdosed. But I have recently stumbled upon a problem that I have had no success in changing or fixing, even though it is having major effects on my quality of life. I am a long time opiate user, like many started with prescription opioids thinking they were the bees knees and before long (before I even graduated high school, I am now 26) I was completely physically addicted to opiates and had slowly progressed to using heroin. I am also an IV user and that seems to be the thing I struggle with most. I moved from fargo, nd to the twin cities, mn back in 2014 because I had lost everything and was homeless, my uncle literally dropped me of at Dorothy Day Shelter in St. Paul. the only thing I could think of was to start over and since the heroin was cheaper down here I made the decision to get on methadone, it is also necessary to inform you that there is not a single methadone clinic in north dakota, so moving to st, paul this was really my first chance to give methadone maintenance a try. I have now been on it for over 2 years and for the most part it has helped me get on my feet. I now have an apartment and a job and it has significantly improved my quality of life. Except for the fact that every time I was given my saturday take out for sunday I would always IV the dose that same day leaving me without methadone for the next day, which was never really a problem because of the half life but now that I got an apartment in mankato (90 miles away) my insurance will only pay for a ride once a week so I had to finally accept the takeouts that had been on my doorstep for the better part of a year. The reason I had never accepted the takeouts is because I was worried I wou