• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

Help With Taper Schedule????????!!!!!!!!!

newbeginnings2015

Greenlighter
I am new here and this is my first time posting. So bear with me if I am posting in the wrong place. A little of my history...I am 34 years old and am currently trying to get my life back on track. I was addicted to hydrocodone for 3 years and like many others, it started with a legitimate pain issue. For the first year and a half I took the pills as prescribed, and for the next year and a half I increased my dosage more and more, and it was downhill from there. As my tolerance increased, my usage increased. At my max I was up to 150 mgs a day. In January of 2014 I decided I was done with the pills. I had a few weeks between jobs and quit cold turkey. I was niave to the whole withdrawal process, did what I thought was enough research on the subject, got me a bottle of vitamins and immodium, and we all know how this turned out...sick as a dog for the next 2 weeks. Had no clue what I was in for but all I can say is WOW! 8o I don't know what I was thinking going that route, but I guess it was something I had to go through. I thought nothing could be worse than praying to the porcelan gods for a week until I learned what it felt like to go 2 weeks with no sleep. After 2 weeks of hell it got a little better everyday. It took about 90 days to start to feel normal. I was drug free until I was diagnosed with a tumor in my abdomen in December of 2014. I was put back on hydrocodone to control the pain, which was absolutely necessary. Knowing the horror of withdrawal I kept my doses low, only took as needed, and as doctor had prescribed. I had surgery in Janua