• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Opioids Help! What would you do? (Methadone taper)

FindingPeace

Greenlighter
I have come to the point in my life that I am finally ready to quit all opiates once and for all. After abusing everything I could get my hands on for the past 2 1/2 years I have been maintaining on PST for the past 6 months. I did enjoy the Tea for while, but at this point I cannot stand it, and the side effects are becoming unbearable.

Yesterday was my last Tea dose around 9pm

Today I got my hands on #20 10mg Methadone tabs.

I plan on doing a very quick methadone taper to avoid any acute physical symptoms from the Tea. I have done this twice in the past with great success but I also had more methadone on hand those times. Opiates are ruining my marriage and I'm ready to finally stay clean this time.

So I have 2 questions:
1. How would you split up the methadone pills?
2. What day would you start the methadone? (is it smart to let the WD's begin? or start the Methadone before any WD occurs?)

Right now my plan is:

Day1: 0mg (today)
Day2: 70mg
Day3: 90mg
Day4: 10mg
Day5: 0mg
Day6: 10mg

Then save 20mg for emergency backup reserve (hopefully will not need it)

So I would like to hear from some of you experienced vets...How does my taper sound? What would you do? Would it be smart to start my 70mg today? or should i let the WD's set in first? ( I feel fine so far today)

I have experienced CT withdrawal from Hydrocodone before and I am absolutely TERRIFIED to go thru that again. I can't.
Thanks!!!!!
and be nice I'm new ;)