• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Benzos HELP Valium taper Phenobarbital vs Psychiatrist? Life on the Line (Thanks so much for reading this)

liminal_j

Greenlighter
I have been trying unsuccessfully for 13 months to taper off of Valium 22.5mg.

I am holding at 19mg for the past 6 months because even making that much of a reduction was unbearable.

I am now disabled unable to work and have lost everything.

I have a Master's degree, moved to NYC when I was 23 and lived there for 12 years and was in a band. I traveled the world, I feel that Valium has taken all of this away. I have suicidal ideation currently.

I have been to 6 psychiatrists, an addictionologist, and a neurologist as well as twice on the verge of entering detox only to have the insurance fall through at the last minute (perhaps a blessing in disguise).

The current Psychiatrist I am seeing is an older man, he is absent minded but genuinely cares and has not force me to reduce my dose of V however after some months with him I have only shown a 5% roughly improvement in symptoms.

I fear the continuation of Valium is a ticking time bomb. He prescribed me trileptal for tremors, Lamictal for glutamate, mirtazapine for sleep which I currently take.

He also has prescribed gabapentin which unfortunately makes me feel like utter shit yet he is insistent on that and clonidine as tools I am not using that would help. I have a fast metabolism and tolerance build up.

I have tried 2 other things before seeing him, switching from V to Klonopin equivalency, and the other experiment being phenobarbital one dose for one day. Each time the doses wore off I had an insane rebound response to each.