• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Cocaine Gf wants me to stop

Stringer_Bell

Bluelighter
Sorry this may be the wrong forum to post in. Mods, could yo kindly move it?

So, I've been using coke for about 6 months off and on. When I first discovered it I went a bit mad with it, doing too much, getting bad depression after binges. Now I'll do 0.5g in a session (maybe once every 10 days or so) and be fine the next day. I think I am addicted because after 7 days or so I'll get cravings which I struggle to resist. Ultimately I want to stop doing coke.

However my gf wants me to stop right now, go to CBT, go to NA meetings every day. I told her I'm just not quite ready to do this yet and want to quit my way (I tend to give up stuff when I'm sick of it - like with cigarettes, I didn't stop until I was so disgusted with smoking that I was 100% ready to quit). I'm not quite there with coke yet.

This is causing a LOT of tension. My gf is more important to me than coke but I just hate being told what to do by anybody. More importantly I don't think my chances of quitting are good when I'm doing it to please another person. I have a bit of a rebellious personality and when somebody assumes the role of authority figure (as she is) I tend to rebel.

I decided I'm not going to lie to her about my coke use. If I use it I'm going to tell her and not hide it. I don't want to lie about it. I told her this and she agreed. But now I just told her that a buddy of mine is in town tomorrow and I'll probably split a gram with him. She is livid.