• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

Getting my life back (withdrawal and recovery journal)

Britt_bratt

Bluelighter
Today is my last day relying on a substance.
A brief background: I was a heavy opiate user (OxyContin and Fentynal) for 5 years but got arrested for stealing narcotics at the pharmacy I was a technician at in 2012, It was a blessing in disguise because it gave me the opportunity to come clean to my family and finally get the help I needed. I successfully completed the (min 9 month) drug court program and my charges were dropped and i was free of opiates finally. For the next 4 years I remained off the opiates but did dabble in stims such as cocaine and mdma. I had those under control until a "friend" from the past asked if I wanted to buy Dilaudid this past January. I was so complacent that I thought I could do a coupe pills and that would be the end of it. Boy was I in for a rude awakening.

My dilaudid abuse soon became an OxyContin addiction which then became a fentynal powder problem. (Which is awful because it's that analog that's made in China and is so strong that heavy users are ODing on small amounts.) my life was falling apart, my boyfriend was at his whitts ends and was going to leave me if I didn't clean up. I was to ashamed to tell my parents about this long relapse I've been in because of everything I have already put them through and I couldn't bear hurting them like that. I finally came clean to them recently after numerous attempts of detoxing and relapsing that's been going on since March.
The hurt and disappointment that I put upon them in killing me but I am also using it as a means to get my life back and continue to be sober and clean for the rest of my life.