• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Benzos GABApentin withdrawl

DrinksWithEvil

Bluelighter
ive been bingeing on gabapentin for the past two months like between 2k-8k a day. and i stopped for 3 days and felt really really depressed and anxious..thought it was just a bad day but started taking them again and im really afraid of stopping them again. like really afraid the stories sounds horrible. ive detoxed from heroin methadone and booze. but that 1 day ihad when i stopped the gaba i felt realllly reallly depressed and it was scary. i have like 10 800mg left.. i can buy more but its expensive. i have work and cant miss days

sigh:(:|

Sounds about right.. 2K and above is pretty large dosage.

If you're that scared to withdraw again then it's time to exercise some self control. The party is over.

Easier said than done of course.. If I was you I would try to figure out the smallest dose possible to stave off withdrawals and stick to that. Start off at say 200mg then add more til you feel better. At that point you can start slowly lowering your dose. You should be able to make that 8k left last a while.

Yes of course gaba withdrawal is frightening.. Its rebound anxiety. Which is literally fear itself.

You're becoming dependent on Gabapentin. You will need to taper this drug like a benzo. You don't want to fuck over your Gaba system some more after a detox from booze.

I agree that you should slowly taper yourself down. Maybe 1000mg a week? Not everyone gets terrible withdrawals. Like me for instance, I can fuck around with high dose gabapentin and never have withdrawal.

I do notice I can get severely depressed though when my medication wears off, but this is temporary (usually gone by morning).