• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

Gabapentin dosing confusion

rica2022

Greenlighter
Hi,
This is my first time posting, so please let me know if I'm doing anything wrong. I'm trying to use Gabapentin while I take a break from benzos (I've developed a tolerance to them and they hardly work for me at this point), and I'm hoping to get a sedating and relaxing effect from it. But since it was prescribed, I was taking high doses (in the low 2000s), because that's my personality type -- I always figure the more, the better (I need to work on this). On those doses, instead of getting relaxed I was getting super stimulated, and kept needing benzos to bring me down, thus defeating the purpose. Today I'd really like to use the Gabapentin to relax me instead. But I don't know how much will be enough to get me relaxed but not so much that it stimulates me. By now I've probably stupidly built a tolerance, so I know I'll need a somewhat sizable dose to feel anything, but I don't know the line between sedating and stimulating. I'm prescribed 300mg three times a day, but I don't know if that will be enough to feel anything after my large doses. Does anyone have any advice? I'm not looking to get "high" in any way, just to calm down at night because I suffer from severe anxiety.
Many thanks for your time and assistance!

Hi,