• LAVA Moderator: Mysterier

Feeling guilty for old favorite music

cripkeeper

Bluelighter
Okay so this morning I was getting ready for the day, listening to older favorites. I graduated high school in 2000 so many of the best songs in my opinion came out between 90-2000.
I always start out really enjoying listening to my favorites from this era. However often a few songs in I begin to feel depressed and stupid for listening, almost like I'm trying to live in the past. That's not my intention at all.
Idk... I love these songs, but can't help but feel sort of alone and isolated, like no one else is still listening to this stuff. They've moved on with life. I'm not trying to recapture anything. But can't help but feel that way. It kinda saddens me that I can't enjoy without feeling stupid.
Any one else experience anything similar?

music is timeless :)

I must be a dinosaur then

Long ago and far away in a different age
when I was a dumb young guy
fossilized photos of my life then
illustrate what an easy prey I must have been
standing in the sun, idiot savant
something like a monument
I'm a dinosaur, somebody is digging my bones

ignorance has alway been something I excel in
followed by naivete and pride
doesn't take a scientist to see how
any clever predator could have a piece of me
standing in the sun, idiot savant
something like a monument

when I look back on the past
it's a wonder I'm not yet extinct
all the mistakes and bad judgements I made
nearly pushed me to the brink
it doesn't pay to be too nice
it's the one thing I have learned
still, I made my fossil bed
now I toss and turn

King Crimson - Dinosaur

Last edited:
Certain song take me back to the past and what was going on in my life at the time. I never feel stupid for listening to any music ever tho. Why should you?