• LAVA Moderator: Mysterier

Expats in Asia?

norm4n

Bluelighter
Hi
I'd like to ask if there are any expats, working in Asia (China/Thailand/India) here. How did you accomplished your goal?
I don't want to live in this country no more and every cell of my body screams Asia. I'm a professional in information technologies, so it shouldn't be too hard to find a job. Do you have any tips for me?
How high is the cost of living, living a "normal" live. Not eating at a western restaurant twice a day, etc. I've googled and I found people saying, that they need more than $1000. In Cambodia? Seriously? I'm living of 200-300 Euros a month, without rent. With rent it would be 500-600.
So how much is it, not having a hooker, drinking gallons of beer, eating New York Rib steaks, every day?

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
Asia is an awful big and varied place that's hard to generalize about. This includes costs of living, salaries, and job availability. I recommend you start by reading and talking with people in your industry about going abroad for jobs in general, and see if any of the gigs people talk about doing sound like experiences you'd enjoy in places you'd be interested in living. I think that might be easier than targeting a place and seeing what jobs are there.