• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

Escitalopram

Parabolan

Bluelighter
I have been using prescribed antidepressants for 25+ years... i have tried almost all of them and have been specifically on 20 mg daily dose of escitalopram for the past 10 years or so... I use & abuse other drugs "prescribed & recreationally"...

My question is, will i ever be able to stop taking SSRIs all together? My doc basically thinks I should not bother since i have used them that long, and because they were prescribed to me when i was a teen for depression & anxiety... I tried to stop taking escitalopram CT on my own twice before and got the weirdest brain zaps ever so i resumed taking it...

Brain zaps are unfortunately pretty common. Did you just stop cold turkey though? A slow taper would be hugely advised if you really want to come off and feel you can cope without them now.

Hi there Parabolan - that is a relatively long time to have been on antidepressents! As you are aware Escitalopram is an SSRI and therefore has particular indications for depression and anxiety, as well as sometimes used in the treatment of OCD. If you feel that you are in a position in your life where these conditions or symptoms are no longer affecting you and you have overall general stability and wellbeing in your life then reducing or coming off your Escitalopram (with medical advice but also being allowed to make an informed decision) may not be such a bad idea. You may even notice positive effects such as an increase in being able to feel empathy as well as feeling less emotionally 'flat'.