View threads about
    Posting RulesBluelight Rules
    PD's Best Threads Index
    Social ThreadSupport Bluelight
    Psychedelic Beginner's FAQ

Does DMT bend around objects?

Synaps3

Bluelighter
I've never tried DMT before, but I think I'll probably take it at some point. I've experienced 4-aco-dmt and 4-ho-mipt a few times, but not enough to discern this. I'm trying to get a feel for the 'depth' of DMT. Do the visuals noticeably wrap around objects (considering you're using a low dose and not in hyperspace) or is it just layered on top of your vision? I think having it wrap around something may indicate some type of intelligent design.

There is no need for intelligent design type explanations, your imagination and visual cortex just get massively flooded and stimulated - for example you may see eyes / faces / entities because we have specific detection systems in particular parts of our brain. When stimulated they cause you to feel you are seeing / detecting eyes, faces or life-forms.
Your normal vision gets taken over by other visual output coming directly from the brain being stimulated by DMT.

for example you may see eyes / faces / entities because we have specific detection systems in particular parts of our brain. When stimulated they cause you to feel you are seeing / detecting eyes, faces or life-forms.

That makes sense, but would something as simple as a corner or round object have some type of detection that the DMT might activate?

It would probably just alter your depth perception now that I think of it, so the answer is probably yes.

Last edited:
...OK, I get it, but only if the amount of 5ht2a receptors is greater in the visual cortex than in the depth perception part because if not then your 'actual' depth perception would be too fucked to work right.

Yes, we also have parts of the brain that are related to patterns and geometry, although I'd personally say that this involves interplay.