• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Benzos Does anyone else work better/be more able to focus on Xanax?

OpioidDopioid

Greenlighter
I take Xanax on a very infrequent basis, but when I do my work ethic is so much better. I'm a freelance programmer and hobbiest game developer. When I dose up I can instantly sit down and work for several hours straight. When I don't dose, I have trouble motivating myself to sit down and work. I think it's the calmed mindset that I have after dosing with Xanax that causes this. I'm able to sit down, and attack my work from a peaceful, completely stress-free mindset. While doing it sober is stressful and intimidating when you have a large workload.

Does anybody else experience this?

Yes, but Xanax is the ONLY benzo I get this with. I find a lot of benzos pretty energizing, though I think that's mainly just being free from some of the anxiety and inhibition. Xanax is the best for me in that regard, and it might have something to do with its unique effects on dopamine.

Xanax just makes me too relaxed to care about doing anything productive. It also impairs my judgement quite a bit, so I'm not sure I'd even want to try to work on it.

Yes, but Xanax is the ONLY benzo I get this with. I find a lot of benzos pretty energizing, though I think that's mainly just being free from some of the anxiety and inhibition. Xanax is the best for me in that regard, and it might have something to do with its unique effects on dopamine.

I've never done any benzos other than Xanax, so I can't comment on this. However, I don't necessarily find it, "energizing." I find it calming, and when I'm more calm I'm better able to focus.