• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

Doctor/patient confidentiality, and college doctors.

crashketchum

Bluelighter
I'm a college student in the US, and I'm wondering if the student health facility is able to prescribe controlled substances. I question this because I went in a while ago for a cough, and the doctor prescribed me 5 medications I couldn't even afford instead of cough syrup. They didn't know about my drug use, so that must have just been common practice there. I want to see if I can get prescribed suboxone from them since I've been getting withdrawals since I quit, but I don't know what they'd do if they knew I was an opiate user. I'm not sure if they'd put my name on some sort of list that would let all doctors know I'm an addict, and I wouldn't be able to get opiate medications from anywhere anymore. If that's the case I'll just deal with the symptoms until they eventually fade away, but I'd very much prefer that I got help with it. So I'm wondering if the only person that would know if I were to go in would be just that doctor, or if they'd let other doctors know, and if student health facilities are even able to prescribe opiates in the first place.