• Cannabis Discussion Welcome Guest
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules

Dangers of using a dinged Metal Halide bulb

drug_mentor

Bluelight Crew
Hey guys,

I am currently setting up a small indoor grow for personal use. Last night I was stuffing around in the room I have my grow tent in, stupidly I had briefly placed my 400W metal halide bulb (still in the box) on the floor next to some beer bottles. As I was walking by it I accidentally kicked the box and it moved and hit into the beer bottles. I was only walking at a standard pace and did not kick it particularly hard.

I have since pulled out the bulb and examined it, I can observe no damage to the bulb whatsoever. It is worth noting however, I have limited experience/exposure to indoor growing and am not overly familiar with how a metal halide bulb should look. It seems obvious there are no cracks or breaks, but since metal halide bulbs have an internal arc tube there is a possibility this is off kilter, or damaged in some other way that I don't notice.

My question essentially, is would this bulb be safe to use? I cannot immediately afford to replace it and am hoping that it should be fine, given I cannot observe any damage.

I should probably add, there is some slight yellow dis colouration in the centre of the glass component of the internal arc, when I look at photos of MH bulbs this part does seem to be clear, although I am not entirely sure how a bump could cause dis colouration of the lamp but not crack it or anything.

If anyone with experience or knowledge on this matter could chime in I would greatly appreciate it! :D

MH (and HPS) bulbs will definitely change color after being used for a couple hundred hours or sometimes even less, all my bulbs are yellowing.

I would run the lamp while you're at home for a few hours, if it doesn't pop and sizzle as it heats up, you should be fine.

The thing is this is a brand new bulb, not all of the glass part of the arc tube is yellow but like half of it is.