• LAVA Moderator: Mysterier

Computer Programming

plumbus-nine

Bluelighter
Wonder if anybody else here is into coding and if, how did you learn it (by yourself, in a class/for work, ...) and which language(s) do you prefer?

I was quite advanced as a teen but some day threw it away because I didn't wanna spend so much time behind a screen anymore. Now I'm having too much time and lack good hobbies so recently began to toy around with compilers again and found a good, cheap webinar about web programming but what I love most is hardware/low-level stuff in C, currently trying out D but I'm quite more forgetful now than I was as a teen.

Looking forward to your replies! :)

I've been programming for a LONG time @plumbus-nine . Decades of it were professional work including a project with the USAF.

I started learning Fortran in University, but when I started working I learned Assembler, C, C++, Pascal and a few other weird languages.

Now a days I'm working a"passion" project in C++ (a Video Game using Unreal Engine).

I learned a bit of Java and Matlab for school, but never got very deep into it. This year I started learning Python for a project at work, and I've really been enjoying it. I've yet to work on any personal projects, but I have some ideas.

I code for a living. I got an undergraduate degree in computer science, but before that I was tinkering and once I got to school, it was super easy because I was already ahead of the curve, I was just filling in the gaps. These days, you can learn on your own pretty easily. My brother in law was a lawyer, and decided he hated it, and remembered that he enjoyed tinkering around with code in high school. He took an online coding boot camp, I think it was a 6 week course he paid for, and got certified and got a job making $65k/year right away afterwards.