Computer Illustration and Stuff

justsomeguy

Bluelight Crew
okay, i just got back from my friends house, who recently purchased Adobe Photoshop.....i was fucking around with the little paint program, and realized that i needed to purchase illustration software for my computer (which i'm getting quite soon for this next semester). Which ones are good? Are virtual pens and papers available? Is it easier to design and illustrate on a Mac or a PC???
I have no experience with a virtual stylus and "virtual paper," but i imagine that they exist.....anyone have any info? input?

Hmmm... I don't think I've ever heard the term "virtual pen/paper" before, so I'm assuming you mean a stylus/tablet. In that case, you might want to look at Wacom (www.wacom.com). Their Graphire series is an extremely good entry level drawing tablet. I've been using mine for over a year and it works incredibly compared to similarly priced models. You might want to go to a CompUSA or similar computer store and try it out there and see how it works out for you.
Second, as powerful as Photoshop is, if you're looking for an Illustration/painting program that is more akin to "real" painting/drawing, you should check out Corel's Painter 7. Photoshop is a very powerful and great app (I use it daily) but as far as simulating different painting/drawing stlyles, Painter is stronger.
Oh, and the Mac vs. PC debate is kinda riduclous. The best answer to that question is that most graphic design/art studios tend to use Macs, while the PC is more widespread. There is no difference between ease of use on either machine. Stick with what youre more comfortable - that'll be the machine that is easier for you.
-christian

I got a graphire tablet for Christmas last year. It's a beautiful thing.