• TDS Moderators: AlphaMethylPhenyl | Eligiu | deficiT

Mental Health Complex PTSD Resource Thread

Eligiu

Moderator: TDS; Discord Sr. Staff
Staff member
Hi everyone.

I've noticed a distinct trend both on the forums and discord of people who are diagnosed with complex PTSD/complex trauma.

Gabor Mate has a pretty solid point (I think) where he states that trauma is the gateway drug to addiction.

I've been battling my cPTSD properly since 2016, which was when I finally ran away from home. It took a very long time to make substantial progress, but at this stage I'm a completely different person. From a guy who would turn sullen and aggressive at any mention of my father and would violently refuse hugs, I can now explicitly discuss the details of my abuse when I chose to disclose and enjoy hugs from people I care about. This is through 7-8 years of intense work.

I also did a lot of reading along the way, not all of which I can remember, but I thought it would be a cool idea for people to post their cPTSD resources that have helped them so that others may find a place to start working through severe trauma.

1. The Body Keeps the Score - Bessel Van Der Kolk. This is hard to read, quite scientific and dense. Probably not the first thing I'd dive into but gives excellent details on why your body responds to trauma how it does.

2. Complex PTSD: From Surviving to Thriving - Pete Walker. An excellent resource, written by a therapist with cptsd himself. Very readable, especially in moments you may be struggling. Comes with a workbook and tools to use throughout your more difficult times.

3. Brene Brown - The Gifts of Imperfection. This is a fantastic book about shame and how it impacts people's lives. A must read for those who experienced prolonged childhood abuse, particularly by a caregiver.