• LAVA Moderator: Mysterier

Careers with degrees in physical sciences?

TheAppleCore

Bluelighter
Well, right now I'm studying music, second semester, and I'm starting to think that this is really not for me. I barely even enjoy music anymore unless I'm on drugs. My motivation is dwindling by the day, but I did notice that my brain really perks up in my acoustics class, which deals with the the science of vibrating physical systems.

So, I'm thinking of switching my course of study to some physical science instead, some branch of physics or chemistry. I have no idea what career options exist in these domains, however. What subfield(s) of physical science is/are most lucrative? Or is that an unanswerable question?

Enlighten me.

Geology (geophysics may be more to your liking as a sub-field); the oil industry will snap you right up.

Chemistry is quite profitable too. Some aspects of physics...particularly quantum electrodynamics and solid state physics, are very lucrative...via the electronics/semi-conductor industry which makes heavy use of them in designing new chips.

Thanks - I appreciate the replies. :)

I was in a particularly pessimistic mood when I made this thread, though. I think I might be able to continue my music studies after all. I'll mull it over a bit more.

Always been fascinated with ecology. Any school of research that strives to understand the way nature, and the fundamental framework from which we arose/inhabit is just mind blowingly intestesting. More specifically permaculture, and sustainable ecological resource management, and food production methods.

To try and understand nature and its processes/patterns, is the ultimate goal of knowledge aquisition imho.