• LAVA Moderator: Mysterier

Can't get a job, Science Major

Giog

Bluelighter
I recently graduated with a B.S. in Natural Science and a minor in Chemistry from a university in California. I have a gpa that is above 3.5 and have a few volunteer/internship experiences. I have been applying for so many different types of jobs both in academia (research) and manufacturing (QC tech, QA tech, environmental analyst, etc.) I have been sending out resumes and applications for the past 4 months and have had only two interviews! Again, I have been searching on craigslist and on university pages (private schools in CA). What else can I do?! I am getting extremely desperate as I REALLY need a job in my field and I cannot get a job just to get by (long story but it has to do with my status in the US).

Anyone got any brilliant ideas? I know it is rough out there, but you would think that I could at least get a Laboratory Tech position... but NOPE!

2 interviews in 4 months isn't all that bad. Hell, that's a lot better than what I've got in a somewhat similar field.

Try contacting these companies in person. It's hard to look good on paper since there will usually always be someone with a higher GPA and with more experience that is also applying for the same job as you.

I have recently seen a lot of Laboratory Tech positions in NY, but that doesn't mean that there are a lot by you.

2 interviews in 4 months isn't all that bad. Hell, that's a lot better than what I've got in a somewhat similar field.

Try contacting these companies in person. It's hard to look good on paper since there will usually always be someone with a higher GPA and with more experience that is also applying for the same job as you.

I have recently seen a lot of Laboratory Tech positions in NY, but that doesn't mean that there are a lot by you.