• Cannabis Discussion Welcome Guest
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules

Cannabis abstinence and psychotic symptoms

Changa707

Bluelighter
Hello everyone, I have been smoking herb for about 5 years almost daily...with a few month long breaks in between. I found that during my most recent abstinence form weed I suffered a lot of psychotic symptoms, leading me to eventually start using daily again (I only managed to quit for a month, and suffered for nightmares paranoia and delusional thinking during that month long period).

Usually when I smoke weed daily I don't experience major paranoia or anxiety, although certain strains have these effects anyways...but I find that paranoia and anxiety gets much worse when I abstain from smoking (in the past this has caused me to become very depressed also, and having suicidal thoughts because of perceived helplessness and paranoid thoughts).

I really want to quit deep inside because I know that daily cannabis use has been limiting me and holding me back from accomplishing things in life. I know many people think weed addiction is a joke...or even non-existant...but I have found that the psychological and physical symptoms of cannabis w/d is not a joke, it can be just as antagonizing as going through any other w/d.

Has anyone had a similar experience? I am under the impression either I am using Cannabis to treat an underlying psychological illness that I am not aware of (doesn't really make sense though).
Or....maybe there are some rebound symptoms from quitting cannabis (all the negative side effects are highlighted when you quit?)