• LAVA Moderator: Mysterier

Can a phd in another field be an asset?

desertshore

Bluelighter
Before the question let me briefly explain my situation: I've got a BA and a MSc in Cognitive Psychology, plus a PhD in Cognitive Neurosciences. The supervisor I hoped for was not confirmed and changed institution, and shortly (6 months maybe) after beginning my PhD program I felt this was not what I wanted to do, but dropping out did not look as a better option, so I continued.
I got my PhD at the beginning of February, and by then I received a good research position abroad but refused it (I was uncertain and they could not wait for my decision more than they already had). Now I have a fellowship in the neurosciences department of a big hospital in my hometown, but I don't like the place (though I like very much my coworkers) and I am quite decided to drop this neuroscience stuff altogether.

The question is: do you think that, in your country, having a PhD in another field could help you in getting a job? Would it be seen as a plus or as 4 years wasted? I am thinking about a job as data analyst/statistician, as I actually like that stuff and statistics is probably my 'strongest' transferable skill. I'm actually about to enroll in a postgraduate course in Statistics. I live in Italy and here PhD are only assets if you stay in the academia, and for some (but most likely not all) research position in industry. In your experience, what would be the situation in your country? State the country also :p

Thanks a lot!