• N&PD Moderators: Skorpio | thegreenhand

best way to administer benzo to Cavia Porcellus (guinea pig)?

EclecticElectric

Greenlighter
seems that it's often shot IM or IP. I don't have the correct injectable stuff, but tablets. I'm not doing an IP shot but I can handle an IM.
I imagine there's oral bioavailability, but all I can find are shot doses (particularly for diazepam and midazolam). I have alpraz and a some diaz.
lists the inactive ingredients of diazepam IM solution to be primarily propylene glycol and alcohol, which makes me believe that mixing it with water would be fruitless.
I'm just gonna give him a sub 1mg dose orally, but I'm curious as to if there's a way to actually administer it via IM injection.

Do not inject a guinea pig with benzos, especially not from pills.

And correct, most benzos are insoluble in water.

Bigger question is, why do you want to inject a guinea pig with benzos?

I have injected animals with benzos but i was a vet tech years ago. And it was always intravenously and generally only diazepam (or zolazepam). Never from pills.

Don't inject animals with crudely prepared drugs please!

i had a skinny pig( hairless) she was a strict vegetarian and ran everyday, seemed her buddy was as well, so please these are health conscious beings and she didnt want to use drugs not even benzos during the 4th of july

Last edited:
seems that it's often shot IM or IP. I don't have the correct injectable stuff, but tablets. I'm not doing an IP shot but I can handle an IM.
I imagine there's oral bioavailability, but all I can find are shot doses (particularly for diazepam and midazolam). I have alpraz and a some diaz.
lists the inactive ingredients of diazepam IM solution to be primarily propylene glycol and alcohol, which makes me believe that mixing it with water would be fruitless.
I'm just gonna give him a sub 1mg dose orally, but I'm curious as to if there's a way to actually administer it via IM injection.