• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Benzos Alprazolam - intense night sweats, but not with other benzos?

cropsos1620

Greenlighter
Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting, but I have been lurking around BL for some time now. I’m grateful to everyone here for sharing their wealth of knowledge, which has kept me out of trouble many times.

Question: why do I get intense night sweats and disrupted sleep after using alprazolam, but not with other benzos? Does anyone else get this? I don't mean a little sweating, more like withdrawal sweats where ya gotta change out of everything and when you get back into bed you're freezing... I've ruled out other factors, and it consistently occurs when I dose alp (1-2mg only). This side effect occurred from the beginning but I didn't make the connection until much later.

I'm prescribed alp 2mg nocte for insomnia. A large starting dose... it would always knock me the fuck out. Since being scheduled as a controlled drug here, more and more psychs won't Rx alp so I was very surprised when my GP wrote me a script for it at the highest available dosage. Shit, I didn't take it every night, though - my own experience and those of other BLers have taught me to limit my benzo usage to 1-2x/week. And on some weeks, none at all. When I asked the good doctor about the night sweats and rebound insomnia, he simply shrugged and switched me to temazepam :unsure: