• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Stimulants Adderall XR Withdrawal Symptoms

Halflife2

Greenlighter
Hi I have been abusing adderall for about 8 years now 3x 20mg a day everyday for the last 5 years. There is now a shortage of adderall and I havent had any in months. I feel a lot of brain fog and slow cognition. Is this normal? It has been about 3 months since last dosage

Yes it is normal.

But why did you not switch to dextroamphetamine (dexedrine) instead?

I like the feeling and motivation on Adderall. I know it’s different for everybody, but given the timeframe that I’ve been taking Adderall how long do you think it will take for the brain fog to go away

The truth is, it may never go away.

But that isn't really because your brain was damaged somehow by the prolonged adderall use, but moreso because your original symptoms that the adderall was treating for all those years have returned. There might be a bit of downregulation from the prolonged adderall use, as well as some increased brain fog/slower cognition simply as a result of you having aged 8 years since before the adderall, but after 3 months you should be pretty much back to baseline, for the most part.

However over time you will likely get more and more used to life without the adderall.

Yes, the adderall shortage was a nightmare and I don't want to relay the depths/money I've spent seeking out some of the only local pharmacies to have the script at obscene prices. Felt bad blowing cash that way but I do know how the shortage affected people. The motivation from adderall is fake regardless. It might feel like you're insanely ready to be productive, but a lot of the time the drug really can't motivate you for something you don't actually want to do.