• N&PD Moderators: Skorpio | thegreenhand

A truly, equal across the board, SNDRI to rival cocaine?

Nagelfar

Bluelight Crew
I've been studying cocaine analogs for over eight years now, and I've yet to find one, phenyltropane, anything, that, with uptake inhibition measured by IC50, which is as close to cocaine in getting them all equally. Many have two of the three that are more close together; e.g. NE & DA, or DA & SER, or maybe even NE & SER; with an affinity in a more even proportion than R-cocaine, but the third is then way out there. None with all three as closely tersed have I been able to find. (this is by looking at direct inhibition of reuptake, not the displacement of another selective ligand, as those values can fall to pieces once compared with the reuptake of each monoamine directly)

Cocaine *is*

DA
241 ( ± 18 )

NE
160 ( ± 15 )

&

SER
112 ( ± 2 )

Meaning the selectivity between SER & DA is 0.5 & between NE & DA is 0.7

Can't seem to get it any closer, in the plethora of phenyltropanes and the like that have been elucidated, none come that close to a double "1.0 & 1.0" with selectivity.

If anyone can cite a publication of *anything* that does, please let me in on it, will you?

I don't think LogP and pKa is of concern in this situation as OP is not considering physiological effects (at least at the moment I think) but rather in vitro reuptake inhibition.

Besides, if a perfect ratio is achieved, then logP can be (somewhat) circumvented by simply increasing the dose. Obviously if the drug now binds to other targets around the body, that is a problem if logP is low.

Are you limiting the scope of compounds to phenyltropanes only? I'm sure I remember a few agents (not phenyltropanes) which are relatively equal in selectivities (methylphenidate derivatives come to mind).