• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Stimulants Would coming clean to my loved ones help me recover?

StaryNight

Greenlighter
I have been an addict for the past nine years (I'm 23). Currently I am a college student attempting to get readmitted into the nursing program at my school. I'm married and I have two young children. My addiction has led to me not having any friends at all. Recently a friend of mine passed away from drug use and it has opened my eyes. I want to get clean and I don't want to be this person anymore. My home life is suffering greatly. I'm angry constantly. My house is a wreck. I don't leave the house. I started attending NA meetings this week. My husband believes I'm just taking pain pills. I started smoking meth three weeks ago with my sibling who has been an addict for the past 13 years. My sibling is the only person I really talk to or hang out with. My husband has told me before he would divorce me if I did meth. I've been smoking every day. My mom has no idea. She does know about my adderall usage in the past. I used to be extremely close with my mother before I started doing drugs. I'm afraid it would be too much for her to handle if I told her. Her mother is dying of cancer and she has had to deal with my sibling's addiction on top of dealing with my father's death from an overdose (I was the result of her cheating on her husband so they weren't close). I want to attempt to get clean on my own. Should I tell her? Or should I only tell her if I can't and need to go to rehab? Would it be a bad idea to tell my husband? It's possible he would support me. I'm just so ashamed. Also, should I just stop talking to my sibling?