• TDS Moderators: AlphaMethylPhenyl | Eligiu | deficiT

Mental Health Weaning off Paxil (Paroxetine), advise needed

Lucy20

Ex-Bluelighter
I have a friend who was put on paxil a year ago for anxiety. She wants off but doesn't have any helpful doctor in her village.

She was on 10mg but side effects were too severe, nausea, more panic and anxiety, disturbed sleep.
She is now taking 5mg but shes feeling quite anxious and just not well.

I know i cannot ask medical questions but has anyone had any experience quitting paxil?
Could she stop at 5mg or try 2.5 for a few days?

And yes it is a friend, im on mirtazipine ?

I am not a doctor just have been a patient basically all my life. I take a different antidepressant (effexor) but

" In clinical trials the effectiveness of PAXIL was demonstrated in patients dosed in a range of 20 to 50 mg/day." Drugs.com

They claim to be on 5 mg. Nausea, panic, anxiety, poor sleep are all symptoms im pretty sure of an anxiety disorder.

Is it possible maybe these side effects are not from the drug at fractions of a theraputic dose and instead the result of a untreated anxiety disorder?

Just a idea.

I am not a doctor just have been a patient basically all my life. I take a different antidepressant (effexor) but

" In clinical trials the effectiveness of PAXIL was demonstrated in patients dosed in a range of 20 to 50 mg/day." Drugs.com

They claim to be on 5 mg. Nausea, panic, anxiety, poor sleep are all symptoms im pretty sure of an anxiety disorder.

Is it possible maybe these side effects are not from the drug at fractions of a theraputic dose and instead the result of a untreated anxiety disorder?

Just a idea.

She wants to get off them and evaluate how her anxiety really is without paxil and if she stays needs something, trazodone or mirtazipine would be better imo.
I am really sensitive to antidepressants side effects but had no issues with mirtazipine.
I really don't know what to do.