• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Opioids Unexplained opioid tolerance... what gives?

AlwaysFlying

Greenlighter
Hey guys, long time lurker, first time poster. Thanks in advance for any answers I may get.

I've been using opioids recreationally for probably around three years now, but my use is really infrequent. Sometimes I'll go months without taking them, but for the most part it's around 1-2 months between use, then using a couple days in a row. I'm certain I'm not addicted or dependent, but for some reason I have this stupid tolerance. Before tonight, the last time I used was about a month ago (40 mgs Perc over two days). Tonight I took 150 mgs of Tramadol and barely felt anything. What's going on? How can my tolerance so high when I barely use?

Now that I think about it, I've actually lost about 45 lbs (on purpose, not from drugs lol) the past few months, so shouldn't my tolerance be a lot lower already?

if you use 20mg of oxycodone a day then your tolerance is going to be high enough to where 150mg of tramadol is barely felt. In my experience tramadol has the least amount of cross tolerance to conventional opiates but it will be dampened greatly by tolerance to other opiates.

There also seems to be a point, even with infrequent use, where your tolerance will go up permanently. Even when you are taking opiates months apart your brain still remembers and you still remember the feeling you got from the last time you used. You might be able to drop your tolerance back to zero if you take a much longer break but the longer you use opiates the less likely they are to satisfy you.

Some people have a natural tolerance to opioids.. or it could just be that tramadol isn't that good to begin with.