• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Benzos Tramadol and seizures, increase the seizure threshold with Xanax?

Techromantic

Greenlighter
Hello, I'm new to bluelight but I really need an answer/opinion/personal experience/link about this. Does Xanax increase the seizure threshold like Klonopin does? I'm on Tramadol and worry about the seizure threshold during the times I increase my dose. I was on Klonopin for a time and I know for a fact helps decrease the chance of having a grand mal seizure (the kind that Tramadol can cause) however I can't find anything about Xanax doing the same. I know some benzos can help decrease the chance of having a seizure but not all of them do. Does anyone know if Xanax can help as I'm not currently on Klonopin (I only have some Xanax). Thank you in advance.

Xanax will prevent chances of seizures in doses of Tramadol that are above 400mg, which is at the seizure threshold. What dose of Tramadol are you taking now, and how much Xanax do you have?
Alprazolam is one of the benzodiazepines that do raise the seizure threshold, so I believe you should be fine. But just to be on the safe side, I wouldn't go past 400mg of Tramadol, and if you do, don't go past by much.

I've eaten my fair share of benzos and tramadol, and if I ever take more than 350-400mg at once I'll pop a MG or two of Xanax and I never have had a seizure. I have a crazy benzos tolerance tho (never been dependant tho). I could take 20mg of etizolam/alprazolam in a night and not black out.