• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

Trackmarks - what can i do?

mcflurry

Bluelighter
Hey,

ive been shooting up meth for about 4-5 years, very infrequently, yet i do have trackmarks on my arm veins. I admit i havent been the nicest to my body and have reused needles almost every time i went on a binge ... cant help but feel weird during summer when wearing t-shirts.

is there anything apart from putting on concealer that i can do to make them disappear? its mainly erythema right on top of my veins. to me, anybody with half a brain can tell that its because of iv drug use.

have you ever heard of laser treatment that could make this go away?

ive been sober for 6 months now and really want them to disappear so i can "move on" with my life ...

thanks in advance for your help!

unfortunately i don't think there's much you can do at this point, i suspect a doctor would be your best bet. well done on getting 6 months sober that is a huge achievement.

if you relapse, make sure to apply pressure to the site directly after you pull the needle out and hold it for as long as possible.... and don't reuse needles i'm guessing berlin is like the uk you can get as many as you like along with the rest of the kit no questions asked in pharmacies so there is no excuse. that's not to say i haven't done the same myself though.....

I'm no expert on this, but as i understand it track marks are kind of like any other scar - they are caused most often by re-using needles or multiple failed attempts to access a vein. Like all scars they do fade a little with time but it's not likely they will disappear totally. I have heard topical vitamin E can help some, not sure on its efficacy though. I'm not big into cosmetic surgery so I don't know what the state of the art in scar removal is either.

Unfortunately I think you are going to have to either just accept your scars as part of you now, or continue to wear long sleeves all the time.