resistance vs. free weight

Nickatina

Bluelighter
I have heard that resistance training is not as effective as free weights. Is there any merit to this? I am much more comfortable doing certain exercises using resistance, as I am a beginner.

Free weights force you to balance the weight in many directions versus resistance machines which typically only exert resistance in 1 direction. That works more muscle and therefore has the potential to produce better results.

Free weights ARE resistance training.

I'm thinking you mean the difference between Free weights and something like Cables or Hammer Strength or any of the other machine options available?

I've been working out a long time and I still think that the most important thing is variety in what you do. There's some machines I simply don't like the motion of so I don't use them (ex. chest hammer strength machines) but I think there's a lot to gain from all forms of resistance training.

A good variety of both, however free weights are way better than machines

Do you think for someone who is a beginner to weight training would benefit from starting on the cable-type machines to build muscle strength first? Would it help, what I think I heard are called stabilizing muscles and assist in a healthy form when I use free weights?

Do you think for someone who is a beginner to weight training would benefit from starting on the cable-type machines to build muscle strength first? Would it help, what I think I heard are called stabilizing muscles and assist in a healthy form when I use free weights?

Definatley not!!!!!!! ! free weights for noobs:)

Do you think for someone who is a beginner to weight training would benefit from starting on the cable-type machines to build muscle strength first?