• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

Quitting meth as hard as alcohol?

Deadgirl

Greenlighter
Tomorrow will be my first day sober, I did it for 3 days last week and the only thing I noticed was I was a raging bitch. I drank for 20 years and quit a year ago. Ive been doing this for 10 months and it just seemed way too easy those 3 days. Should I expect any surprise? I’m quitting smoking also and I started Wellbutrin a few days ago I hope that helps. he hardest thing for me is craving sugar. I was Diagnosed a year ago with diabetes and it feels harder for me to not eat sugar than not do drugs. Does this happen to anyone else and does anyone have any tips that would help?

I've quit meth and quit smoking after 15 years, cold turkey, but have never been able to quit alcohol.

Quitting meth was easy as fuck, though I only ever insufflated. Quitting smoking was also easy, though I only smoked about 15 a day in the last couple of years.

Alcohol though? Fuck no....and I'm only a take-it-or-leave it binge drinker. Problem obviously being that when I do take it, I take it all.

Good on you for giving it a go. I think you'll find it easier than quitting drinking was. What was your ROA?

With some huge events this year and Actually going To therapy for myself and not just to Keep my psychaitrist happy I got to realize i wasn’t born this piece of shit who just cant get it right. I am happy to just exist and not be waiting to get life over with so I can get drunk. This feels different it is just hard to trust that it really is after this long.

In my opinion and experience it doesn't matter what drug your doing. It's all the same... in a way...

if you truly want to be sober you will be, otherwise not.

it's black and white.

sadly
this is very wise. any drug is only as easy to quit as the amount of will you have to quit.

My problem with stimulants was never “quitting”.