• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

Quitting Heroin with a Fast Methadone Taper

polo792

Bluelighter
Hi i was wondering if anyone has any experience with getting off heroin by using methadone for a short period? I have been using for a couple years, my dose currently is around 0.5g a day, however each time i have a shot the weight of the heroin is 0.08g so its not that much. I have been told that methadone would be a good option to get off heroin but the amount of days that one can be on methadone shouldn't exceed 5 days or so. If anyone can give me any advice or info if its doable or not.
The methadone is 40mls and i only have the one bottle that someone gave me, I also have the following to assist me to get off the heroin. A box of valiums and some weed to aid me with this task.
Any advice would be helpful.

i haven't heard of anyone doing this, but you have been told correctly about not wanting to use the meth for more than a couple of days- its withdrawal is longer than that of heroin so you'd be making a rod for your own back if you used too long.

have you kept the bottle in the fridge? i think it needs using up pretty quick so don't delay too long. the valiums and weed should help.

i would take as little as possible that holds you. 40mls isn't that much so you will still experience some withdrawal but it should smooth out the withdrawals. i have, accidentally a few times just by running out and going somewhere i couldn't score, done a couple of fast tapers off heroin - like dramatically reduced doses for like 2 or 3 days and experienced surprisingly little withdrawal once i did run out. so it should make the initial stage much easier.