• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

Kratom Precipitated withdrawal with kratom and buprenorphine - poll

Have you ever experienced precipitated withdrawal from buprenorphine while addicted to kratom?

• Yes, and I was still feeling the kratom when I took it

Votes: 1 3.6%
  • Yes, and I was not in full withdrawal yet when I took it (but not high either)

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No, and I was still feeling the kratom when I took it

Votes: 9 32.1%
  • No, and I was not in full withdrawal yet when I took it (but not high either)

Votes: 8 28.6%
  • I have no experience with taking buprenorphine while addicted to kratom

Votes: 10 35.7%

• Total voters

Xorkoth

Administrator
Staff member
I wanted to start a thread on this, because it is my suspicion that kratom addiction cannot cause precipitated withdrawal when buprenorphine is taken. This comes from my own experience (I have taken it many times when I first start feeling the slightest bit of withdrawal), and that of my friends. One friend says he mixes them and never pays any attention to whether he is in withdrawal from kratom or not, and another friend just told me about how he was still a little high on a heavy dose of kratom extracts, and took 8mg of suboxone and did not experience any PWD at all.

My theory is that since kratom is a partial agonist like buprenorphine is, precipitated withdrawal is not an issue, since bupe will fully substitute, even though it also does kick the mitragynine/etc out of the receptors.

Please review the options and vote in the poll. The goal is to get a good qualitative data point to add to the body of knowledge on the subject. And also to discuss, of course.