• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

New to BL, have a suboxone question.

M@deline

Greenlighter
Hello, I might be posting in the wrong place, my apologies I am new to bluelight, but I am familiar with the site. I have a question regarding Suboxone. I will start from the top, give a little intro. I have had 9+ spinal surgeries, my entire lumbar has been reconstructed. I am prescribed to 20mg R's and 60mg mscontin. I do run out about a week before my new script. Sometimes, I have someone who will give me H to last me until my prescription. I have never have taken suboxone. I took like not even a quarter of one, but it wasnt helping much with my pain even though they suggested it would. It has been like 9 hours since I took the little piece. How long do you think it will be before this wears off and I can take something for my pain?

Suboxone has a duration of 48 hours. But. Taking a micro dose won’t affect the efficiency of pain medication. I would have suggested a minimum of 8 mg to cope with pain. The level you have I would take up to 16mg for it. But. Never take suboxone within 24 hrs of ingesting opiates. And opiates won’t work for 24-48 hours afterwards. At 24 hr Mark you’ll feel something. But you won’t get full effects or H for 48. But like I said, a micro dose shouldn’t affect anything.

How long do you think it will be before this wears off and I can take something for my pain?

You don’t need to wait, especially if you took a small amount only one time.

I definitely would not recommend taking buprenorphine, at all, if you’re taking opioid pain medication to avoid precipitated withdrawals.