• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Benzos Need Help - 2 Week ativan usage

Arf417

Greenlighter
I was prescribed Ativan and taking around .5 two times a day for two weeks. The past 3 nights I am only taking .5 at bedtime and I want to stop. Do I need to taper to .25 for a few days and then just come off? Or just stopping now might be ok? With the short time period I don't really know. I have addiction history, but never with benzo's and don't want to start! Any suggestions or thoughts would be great!

I am by no means a expert on benzodiazepines or a medical professional so please consult your prescribing physician before altering medication. With that said, from my understanding two weeks is a realitively short time and those are small doses for benzo usage. Everyone's body can respond differently of course, but I would think cold turkey in your situation shouldnt produce severe enough withdraw to be life threatening. Albeit probably a little uncomfortable. The problem with tapering is it's typically done with longer acting drugs such as Valium and you have to be disciplined enough to stick to a strict tapering plan otherwise you end up right back where you started. You have to weigh the risk reward as with everything in life.

^^as stated above, PLEASE talk to your doctor, that's the only truly safe way to wd from benzos, everyone develops tolerance at different rates and just in case you're one of the unlucky ones who develops physical dependence quickly, it's better to be on the safe side. We may know drugs here but we don't know your body, know what I mean?