• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Opioids Methadone Taper

beklotz86

Greenlighter
Hey guys, I'm a long time lurker but this is my first time starting a topic. Anyway, I need some advice about tapering methadone, preferably from those who have been there and done that.

I've been on methadone for 3 years now, most of that time I've been at 120 mgs a day, that is my current dose, and I'm ready to try to get off the stuff. I've read a lot about coming off, and a lot of people say they drop 5 to 10 mgs a week, but what they don't mention is whether they drop the chunk at the beginning of the week then stay at that level for a week or drop a little each day.

My goal is to drop on average one milligram per day. So when I start off, would it be better to go to 113 mgs and stay there for a week and then 106 for a week, etc., or should I go 119 mgs one day then 118 the next and so on? It seems to me that going down 1 mg each day would be a good way to come off, am I wrong about this?

I detoxed methadone slowly and it was successful--easy and painless

I was on about 90 or 95 when I started ( years back, foggy memory lol). I came down 5 a week at first. In one drop at say beginning of week. Then your system adjusts to it. Then I would do the same the next week. I went to 3 mg per week drop around 40 mg, and once I hit 20 mg I did 1 mg/week drops. I had to re-stabilize at 20 mg for a few weeks and again at 4 mg. sometimes your body has to adjust and it takes longer than a week