• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Stimulants Just came back from the doctor...

MrBarrettBrown

Greenlighter
Hello everybody,
This is the first time I have posted on here, and I would love to get some feedback.

My Doctor started me on 10 mg of Adderall (Amphem Salts) about three months ago. The first month and a half I was taking it, I experienced no side effects except for having slight trouble falling asleep at night. About two weeks ago I noticed some side effects. It seemed like my heart was pounding harder than it should be all day long consistently. I am an EMT student, and in one of my classes last week I was the patient for a scenario. My instructor is a 30 year paramedic and noticed my blood pressure and pulse were unbelievably high for a resting rate. I have a resting systolic BP of 130-160 and a resting pulse of 95-110 BPM.

I put off making an appointment for a couple of days but finally got around to it today. I just came back from my appointment and my doctor told me to immediately stop taking it. ( I completely understand this, especially with my background education with drug use ) Although what struck me as odd was when I asked him what could be an alternative to the Adderall since it obviously needs to change, he seemed very upset with me and said he will not even discuss other alternatives until we meet on Tuesday, April 7th. I personally thought it was kind of rude to have my doctor whom I have gone to since I was a kid, kind of disregard my concerns and questions.