Drug Discussion

Welcome Guest!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
  • AADD Moderators: swilow | Vagabond696

Is a degree enough?

friskk

Bluelighter
Hi,

I was wondering what your thoughts were on higher education. 10 - 15 year ago if you had a university degree you could pretty much guarentee yourself a high paying a job. You could comfortably go through your career with that one piece of paper and that was it.

Presently, it seems employers are demanding more and more qualifications before they'll give you a shot. I know so many people who do their degrees and then move on to a masters degree because they hadn't been able to secure themselves a job. In some areas a masters degree is now becoming the minimum requirement.

I was wondering, in your field of work is a degree enough. Please tell me what your field is, what education you have (if any) and how hard it was to get the job. Please also tell me how many years you have been working.

Thanks,

F

i have a degree in media relations and sports marketing.... i was basically trained to be a player agent....

but after 6 months in the field of public relations / promotions, i realised that it was all fluff and hot air, and moved into business instead....

i have not had any business training, and have learned my skills on the fly... and am now at a national level in a rather large company.. not bad for working there for only 3 years...

not bad for someone who got P's the whole way thru uni cause i drank too much.... not only that, but most of the stuff i studied was simply how to read people and how to relate to people (plus i know the acient olympics inside out.. how strange is that... :/ )

but strangely enough, no company that i have got a job with has asked to see my degree or my uni transcript...

i am furthering my education though.. i did a certificate in applied economics last year, and will do an mba in 2 years (like EVERYONE ELSE)...

but yeah, STAY IN SCHOOL KIDDIES!