• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Misc If I add heat to my Everclear Branf 95% alcohol Norlfurazepam Solution will the volume of liquid evaporate unlike compared to using Propylene Glycol?

Drag2019

Bluelighter
I’m new to using Alcohol instead of Propylene Gylcol in my volumetric solutions.

If I make a 10-20mg Norflurazepam 95% Everclear Brand Alcohol Solution and place it on a hotplate will the high amount of heat evaporate it? Is it similar to Propylene Glycol and that adding heat to it will just help speed up absorption without degrading it by evaporating away the liquid?

Ooooh, no please if you’ve no experience don’t heat alcohol. Sooo dangerous.

Propylene glycol is not a volatile solvent, it has a pretty high boiling point (188°C / 370°F).
On the other hand, Ethanol fairly volatile, 95% EtOH will probably boil at 78-80°C (~175°F) so you wouldn't have to apply a lot of heat.
So to answer your question, it would depend on the temperature of your hot plate, but yes, it will evaporate.

Ethanol can form an explosive mixture with air and catch fire if you're not careful.
I would stick to propylene glycol or glycerol if the plan is to make a benzo solution for volumetric dosing .
Why would you want to use ethanol for this purpose?

If the plan is to recover the norflurazepam from an EtOH solution then make sure you're in a well-ventilated area and avoid open flames.
Also, smaller amounts of ethanol will evaporate quicker than large amounts (I definitely don't recommend trying to boil a liter of EtOH all at once).

To answer your question