• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Misc GBL and its effects on the body

juninho999

Greenlighter
Firstly I apologise if this in the wrong place, (tried to put it in other drugs but it wouldn't allow me to choose that pre-fix) mods feel free to remove to a more appropriate area if necessary

I have been using gbl for aprox 3 years, mostly 24/7 with some breaks of the odd month here and there, my recent habit was at the 12-15ml / day level.

It has now been 8 days since my last hit, and after a hellish withdrawal done cold turkey except for booze (red wine) I feel as if I'm through it now, and never want to return to this awful chemical again.

I have read that using gbl and during the withdrawal period it can have detrimental effects on the body, blood pressure, acitosis, pottasium levels etc.

I would like to go to a doctor for a general health check, blood tests etc as I am in my late 40's and haven't visited a doctor in 20 years.
I don't wish to divulge my previous use of gbl, but at the same time don't want to be misdiagnosed due to any lingering after effects from gbl.

My question is how long should I wait before going to the doctor ?
How long before any after effects of gbl will correct themselves ?

Hope someone can help me ?

And to all you gbl users, IT CAN BE DONE, you just have to want it enough.

Love Light & Peace to you all

Last edited:
I'd personally go to the doctor asap. I'm pretty sure alcohol might have prolonged your withdrawals. GHB/GBL both work on GABA receptors, right? Just like Benzos and alcohol.

You might want to research the withdrawals from GBL before jumping off cold turkey, could result in seizures and what not (if it's Working on GABA receptors)