• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Opioids Fentanyl Gel taken orally having no effect. What's the deal?

OpiLuvvr

Greenlighter
Hello, brand new Bluelight poster, but an avid reader of your wonderful forums.
My friend is trying to help me with pain reduction at the moment. I have a very high opiate tolerance (ex: zero effect from Morphine, can easily take 200mg+ Hydrocodone daily and not think twice). I will not inject anything. Ever. No experience with fentanyl. So...
Friend has Fentanyl patch (the one with gel in it). I believe it's the 100 you leave on for 72hrs. I have no experience with Fent, and my friend is obviously wanting me to err on the side of caution. So far, I've taken about three droplets of the gel over two hours, orally on my tongue. Last dose about an hour ago. No effect on me. Is this normal? My friend says I'm possibly "high and don't know it," but being an avid opiate user I feel like I should know I've taken something. But I've had no pain relief, no buzz, nothing. I'm about to just give up on the Fent.
So my main question is, am I doing it wrong/not enough? Is it normal to have nothing happen? What's going on here? Don't want to risk doing anything stupid.
Would it be ok to just say screw this and take some Lortab at this point, if I'm feeling nothing?
Thanks!

Last edited:
Also...

Three hours later, still nothing. Am I safe to take some Lortabs or could this Fent actually be in my system without my noticing a thing and Lortabs cause a bad reaction or their effects be more potent than usual?

3 drops of that gel orally isn't going to do anything.

Best bet is to wear it. Gel patches are sh*t orally

Or stick to what you know.