• Bluelight HOT THREADS
  • Let's Welcome Our NEW MEMBERS!

Recruiting Exploring psychedelic experiences: Reasons for use and long-term effects

PsySearcher

Greenlighter
Hi there,

My name is Andrew McGahan and I am a researcher at the University of Canterbury (New Zealand) conducting a study on the effects of psychedelic use on individual’s self-understanding (i.e. insight into one’s own inner workings).

This survey explores reasons why people use psychedelics, different types of psychedelic experiences, various set and setting factors and their effect on psychedelic experiences, and the long-term impact psychedelics have had on people’s beliefs, behaviours, attitudes and world view. We understand this is a broad topic and this survey is but a small step towards a more systematic understanding of the psychedelic process. This study has been reviewed and approved by the University of Canterbury Human Ethics Committee

All data gathered will be completely anonymous unless you choose to opt-in for a separate interview portion of this research project. If you decide to participate in the interview we would need an active email address to contact you. In this case your email would be linked to your survey responses. However, your identified data would remain confidential to the research team.

The purpose of the interview is to provide a more a detailed account of psychedelic experiences and their impact on you and your life. The interview is completely optional, and you can choose to remain anonymous and only complete the online survey (which is very helpful as well).

Rest assured, all published material would be completely anonymised in both situations.

The interview portion of this research project has now been completed (A big thank you to all those of participated).

The following link will take you to the official information page and consent form.

Psychedelic Experiences Survey

Thank you for your supporting psychedelic science!

Last edited:

Tronica