• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Harm Reduction Dxm

invisigone

Greenlighter
Hi all, I’ve just brought a 100ml bottle of dxm cough mixture. I’ve never done dxm before, it’s for tomorrow (Sunday) and I was wondering if someone could help me with the dosage? My thoughts are just to neck the bottle as I have read that dosage should be around 150ml. But I thought I would check with more knowledgeable people before I go ahead, after all, you can’t untake it can you. I think this qualifies as harm reduction.

It’s not something I intended doing long term, it’s just a fill in as I am nearly out of opiates until the end of next week when I get my script and my poppy garden is nowhere near ready to harvest yet, so I’ve got a case of the joneses and I am hoping that the dxm takes the edge off.

If you haven't tried it before you should do a small test dose first, as DXM is metabolized via CYP2D6. As there are different phenotypes of CYP2D6 you might be a fast metabolizer or you might not be able to metabolize it, which can lead to increased side effects. As around 75 mg is the threshold you could try like 50 mg and if nothing happens after a few hours you can take more.
And make sure that DXM is the only active ingredient!
As the dosage depends on the concentration of DXM I'll give you dosages in milligram, you'll have to calculate the dosage in mililliters yourself :)
A normal dose would be around 150 mg to 350 mg.

You aren't taking any meds that interact with the serotonin system, right?

atleast calculate your dose by mg of dxm. not ml of syrup. A real nice experience of dxm imo starts with dosages of 400mg up to 600mg for your first time. your opiate tolerance might interact with dxm i think.