• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Opioids Donating plasma the day after a week-long poppy seed tea binge?

Sleepdust

Bluelighter
I've searched everywhere for information on this but it's been very conflicting to say the least. I am scheduled to donate plasma today but I'm coming off a PST binge. I've never used IV drugs and don't look strung out really. It's my first time there. Should I disclose opiate use? And if so, would I be disqualified? My appointment is in a couple hours so I'll find out one way or the other, but it's a hell of a long drive to not get paid. Thanks guys!

I'm off now and I'll update as to whether or not I was able to donate today in case anyone finds his or herself in my predicament later on.

they will check it for such things and report you most likely esp if you in the usa

It's been a long time since I donated plasma, I know they ask you a bunch of questions. Like if you have traveled overseas, used iv drugs, gotten tattoos/piercings, blood transfusions, etc. They want to make sure you are in general good health. I was excluded one time because I was finishing a course of antibiotics and another time because I was anemic. Using most medications/drugs won't necessarily disqualify you. Hope it works out for you!

edit: from American Red Cross- http://www.redcrossblood.org/donating-blood/eligibility-requirements/eligibility-criteria-topic