• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Opioids Does anyone know why nicotine triggers a short surge in an opiate high?

Bomb319

Bluelighter
It's my vaporizer actually. 18 mg/mL nicotine. I'm on quite a lot of methadone daily, and whenever I take a large drag, there is an unmistakeable wave of the opiate effect that's absolutely not attributable to nicotine as I know it. This only happens when I already have high opiate levels in my blood. Even later in the evening while "held" by the methadone but nowhere near sick, and it disappears. I consider myself very knowledgeable when it comes to pharmacology considering I have a degree in biology and spent a further 3 years in pharmacy school - but I can't figure out any reasonable explanation as to how a stimulant rapidly but for a short time, increases the effects of a depressant.

If anyone either knows exactly what I mean regarding this and/or can explain why, I would really appreciate it.

Synergy from playing around with the reward center?

I doubt it - nicotine normally doesn't even really do too much for me. I've always had a great attraction to depressants but not stimulants. I couldn't get myself addicted to coke, crack or meth. But opiates and to a much lesser extent benzos, I fell in love with right away. Thanks for your input, but I just think there has to be something more specific going on. It's not just a "reward", but a perceived overall increase in all the effects of the methadone - I think.