• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Opioids Dealing with depression / self medication ? (opiates, benzo, amp)

sisi85

Greenlighter
Newbie here. Sorry about the novel, but I've been reading this site non-stop for the past few days and I'm hoping some people on here with personal experience can help. TIA!

My partner has dealt with MDD since he had meningitis at age 18. He's been treated with every form of anti-depressant on the market to very limited success and what success he has had has been short lived. When he was younger, weed and opiates were how he self medicated to deal with it. We've been together 12 years and he'll do very well for 4-8 months and then hit rock bottom for 3-15 days. Severe depression with major irritability and anger. Nothing seems to break through. Pdoc added Latuda to his current meds (Wellbutrin, Trazodone, Clonidine) about 4 months ago and then put him back on 60mg IR Adderall 2 months ago. He's been on and off Adderall since 2nd grade for ADHD and he says it has helped with the depression post meningitis.