• Select Your Topic Then Scroll Down
    Alcohol Bupe Benzos
    Cocaine Heroin Opioids
    RCs Stimulants Misc
    Harm Reduction All Topics Gabapentinoids
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums

Opioids Can Long term Codeine Phosphate use cause gastritis or stomach problems?

Status
Not open for further replies.

CrackFoxx

Greenlighter
I've been using Codeine daily for a few years now, sometimes dosing up to 400mg. Apart from the habit ive got myself into, everything health wise has been good up until a couple of months ago when i started to get very uncomfortable hunger pains and a general irritated stomach like feeling. I was never aware that codeine caused any type of stomach irritation and cant really find much info on it. anybody else have any similar problems?

GI problems, constipation and other stomach issues are associated with the chronic use of opiates. Many times it can mean your dose is to high. Other times it can also mean you are taking your opiates to soon before or after a meal.

These are a few things you can try to reduce stomach issues associated with opiates. Upon waking up go to the bathroom and then eat a good meal high in fiber and protein. Wait several hours to digest before taking your morning codeine dose.

Make sure to exercise during the day and eat plenty of snacks and drink plenty of water. Taker a fiber supplement or start a high fiber diet.

Then again after lunch wait a number of hours to digest before taking your PM dose. Make sure you allow plenty of time to elapse from taking your PM dose to going to the bathroom. So if you go to the bathroom in the AM do not take any opiates after 6 PM. Probiotics can also be helpful. Daily exercise that involves some type of long walking or vigorous cardio has made a huge difference in my stomach issues related to opiates.